Staff WRT wins Second Straight 24H Dubai – Sportscar365 | Jobi Cool

Picture: 24H Collection

Mohammed Al Saud, Diego Menchaca, Jean-Baptiste Simmenauer, Jens Klingmann and Dries Vanthoor gave Staff WRT victory of their BMW debut on the Hankook 24H Dubai.

Vanthoor introduced the automobile to the road 21.7 seconds forward of the No. 91 Herberth Motorsport Porsche 911 GT3 R of Ralf Bohn, Daniel Allemann, Alfred Renauer and Robert Renauer, who stopped for gas from the lead with 20 minutes to go.

After ranging from seventh place, the No. 7 BMW M4 GT3 within the opening hours because of a charging stint from Vanthoor earlier than it dropped behind the No. 21 HAAS RT Audi R8 LMS GT3 Evo II following the pack shuffling with a pair of early Code 60s.

With Klingmann on the wheel of the BMW, it caught and overtook HAAS RT’s Olivier Bertels within the early fourth hour of the race to regain the general lead.

When early leaders Haupt Racing Staff surrendered in a two-car crash on the aspect of the street Saturday night time, the No. 91 Porsche of Herberth Motorsport grew to become the primary challenger for the WRT victory.

After Herberth closed the hole barely in a single day, Porsche first moved into the race lead with six hours remaining when WRT made a scheduled pitstop.

This triggered a stage of the competition the place the 2 vehicles usually swapped locations because the pitstops rolled round.

After Herberth first grabbed the higher hand in a lead of greater than a minute, a robust stint from Vanthoor noticed the BMW rapidly claw its manner again to floor towards Allemann.

Minutes later, the strategic battle swung in WRT’s favor when Herberth appeared to mistime a gas cease whereas remaining underneath a Code 60 which triggered a cease for the No. 19 MP Motorsport Mercedes with 4 hours to go.

The No. 91 Porsche was left on the refueling station because the race resumed, as Vanthoor rejoined the circuit. This gave WRT a lead of round 25 seconds, which gave the impression to be sufficient.

Nevertheless, Herberth gambled on a brief scheduled final cease within the remaining hour to realize monitor place and Robert Renauer exited the monitor some 13 seconds forward of Vanthoor.

The BMW manufacturing unit driver closed the hole on Renauer with the clock counting down, however noticed the street to victory cleared when Renauer made a late splash for gas underneath Code 60 with 20 minutes left on the clock.

The win was Staff WRT’s second in a row on the Dubai enduro, whereas handing BMW its first victory within the occasion since 2011. It was additionally the primary time the M4 GT3 had gained a 24-hour race.

Sister No. 46 vehicles of Tim Whale, Valentino Rossi, Sean Gelael, Max Hesse and Maxime Martin accomplished the general podium.

Brenton Grove, Stephen Grove, Anton De Pasquale and Earl Bamber completed fourth at No. 10 Grove Porsche, together with the No. 21 Audi of Bertels, Maxime Soulet, Mathieu Detry, Benjamin Mazatis and Frederic Vervisch of HAAS RT within the workforce’s first race.

The No. Herberth’s 92 Porsche pushed by Jason Hart, Elliot Skeer, Adam Adelson and Seth Lucas got here house sixth, main the No. 32 GP-Elite vehicles.

SPS’s Coronary heart of Racing claimed eight locations total, with CP Racing taking victory within the GT3 Am class with ninth place.

Christer Joens, Michael Doppelmayr, Pierre Kaffer and Elia Erhart accomplished the highest ten at No. 1 Phoenix Racing Audi.

After beginning the race with each vehicles on the entrance row, the Haupt Racing Staff was compelled to retire each vehicles earlier than the midway level of the race. The No. 4 Abu Dhabi Racing’s HRT Mercedes was eradicated when Sebastian Baud crashed at flip 14 in an influence that noticed the automobile burst into flames.

Not lengthy after, Luca Stolz took the polesitting No. 777 Al Manar Racing automobile within the storage with a suspension failure that the workforce selected to not repair.

Two of Audi’s strongest entries from Sainteloc Junior Staff and Tresor Attempto Racing have been each withdrawn from the race after encountering points.

The category victory within the 992 class went to No. 962 Fach Auto Tech Porsche 992 GT3 Cup of Alexander Schwarzer, Gabriel Rindone, Larry ten Voorde, Matthias Hoffsuemmer and Huub van Eijndhoven, with the No. 925 Huber Motorsport Porsche that took 992 Am honors.

Razoon – Extra Than Racing took an incredible win at GTX with their N0. 714 KTM X-Bow GTX, whereas the No. 408 ROFGO with the Dragon Racing Mercedes-AMG GT4 of Roald Goethe, Oliver Goethe, Benjamin Goethe, Stuart Corridor and Jordan Grogor dominated GT4.

The Dubai-based squad ran a virtually flawless race, ending forward of No. 438 Simpson Motorsport BMW M4 GT4 of James Kell, Cameron MacLeod, Keith Kassulke, David Holloway and Vasily Vladykin. Century Motorsport’s BMW accomplished the rostrum.

Victory within the TCR was obtained by the No. 188 AC Motorsport Audi RS3 LMS TCR of Stephane Perrin, Yannick Mettler, Miklas Born and Sam Dejonghe with a margin of 70 laps on the No. 117 Wolf-Energy Racing Audi of Marcus Menden, Marlon Menden, Rob Huff and Peter Posavac.

Davey Euwema is a Sportscar365 reporter primarily based in The Netherlands, overlaying the FIA ​​World Endurance Championship, DTM, Fanatec GT World Problem Europe powered by AWS and the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, amongst different sequence.

Supply hyperlink