Defined: Why Mitrovic had penalty aim dominated out for Newcastle vs Fulham | Jobi Cool


Fulham striker Aleksandar Mitrovic thought he had opened the scoring from the spot in opposition to Newcastle on Sunday, however the aim was disallowed.

  • Mitrovic slipped however scored the penalty
  • The aim was dominated out as a result of he touched the ball twice
  • Newcastle gained 1-0

WHAT HAPPENED? Fulham have been awarded a penalty within the second half after VAR dominated that Kieran Trippier had tripped Bobby Decordova-Reid simply contained in the field. Mitrovic stepped as much as take the spot-kick in opposition to his former membership, slipping as he flicked the ball and sending Nick Pope the incorrect method. Amid vigorous appeals from the Newcastle gamers, referee Robert Jones blew the whistle to award the aim.

WHY WAS IT BANNED? Mitrovic’s penalty was dominated out as his slip meant he touched the ball twice earlier than it hit the online. The legal guidelines of the sport stipulate that the penalty taker can solely contact the ball as soon as, that means that the Serbian’s effort was deemed unlawful and thus disallowed.

THREE PHOTOS:

Aleksandar Mitrovic Fulham 2022-23Getty PhotosAleksandar Mitrovic Nick Pope 2022-23Getty PhotosDan Burn Sven Botman Newcastle 2022-23Getty Photos

BIGGER PICTURE: Mitrovic’s slip proved pricey for his facet as Alexander Isak’s late strike gave all three factors to the Magpies, who moved again as much as third following Manchester United’s win over rivals Metropolis on Saturday. Fulham, in the meantime, ended their run of 4 consecutive league wins however stay sixth, having performed two video games greater than seventh-placed Brighton.

WHAT’S NEXT FOR MITROVIC? The Serbian will probably be hoping to steer the cost once more when Fulham host Tottenham at Craven Cottage subsequent Sunday.





Supply hyperlink