Badminton, Australian Open Championship. Li Zijia storms through the second round | Jobi Cool

Lee Zi Jia is one step closer to next month’s season-ending World Tour Finals.

The Malaysian star shuttled into the second round of the Australian Open on Wednesday (November 16), needing just 25 minutes to win. Rio Agustino (Australia) 21-9, 21-11.

It was a lopsided affair from the start and the top seed was never really tested.

The victory sets up a mouth-watering showdown with China Lu Guang Tzuwho is currently ranked last in the World Tour Rankings automatically qualifies for the World Tour Finals in Thailand.

Read more. Can Li Zijia become world number one?

Australian Open 2022: How to watch

The Australian Open will be broadcast on the Olympic Channel via in select territories.

It will also be shown globally with broadcast partners in each region.

Fans in Malaysia can watch Lee Zii Jia live on Astro subscription channels.

And if you can’t find a screen to watch the games, follow’s coverage of the event.

Li Zi Jia 2022 results so far

2022 has been a rollercoaster ride for Li Zijia, there have been head-turning wins, crushing defeats and a lot of badminton.

French Open, October – Round of 32 (Lost to C├ęsar Hiren Rustavito)

Denmark Open, October – final (lost to Shi Yu Qi)

Japan Open, August/September – Round of 32 (lost to Srikanth Kidambi)

World Championships, August – Round of 16 (lost to Zhao Jun Peng)

Malaysian Open, June – Round of 16 (lost to Sesar Hiren Rustavito)

Indonesia Open, June – Final (lost to Viktor Axelsen)

Indonesia Masters, June – quarter-finals (defeated Anthony Ginting)

Thailand Open, May – winner (beat Li Shi Feng in the final)

Thomas and Uber Cup Finals, May – Won all three matches (against Toby Penty, Momota Kento and Lakshya Sen)

Asian Badminton Championships, April/May – winner (beat Jonathan Christie in the final)

All England March – Semi-Final (Defeated by Lakshya Sen)

German Open, March – semi-finals (lost to Kunlavut Witidsarn)

Asian Team Championship – Malaysia Men’s Team Win (Loh Kin Yew, Hatano Riku, Jeon Hyok Jin and Chiko Aura Dwi Wardoyo beat)

Source link